Search the guide
Should You Buy iPhone Duo? Buying Guide & Checklist

Should you buy iPhone Duo or wait? Check carrier eSIM support, portability, storage, stylus timing, real cost and current delivery estimates before you order.

iPhone Duo Hong Kong vs China Version: eSIM, Activation & Returns

Hong Kong or China iPhone Duo? Compare mainland eSIM activation (model A3721), return rules and other differences before you buy, with links to Apple's own pages.

How to Make an iPhone Duo Folding Animation

Use your own media in the browser, choose a folding sequence and export a short film. This walkthrough uses the creative tools already available in Duo Studio.

What is iPhone Duo? Apple’s foldable iPhone, explained

iPhone Duo is the name Apple announced for its first foldable iPhone. Understand the product and the older Fold and Ultra names.

iPhone Duo Prices: Hong Kong, China, US & UK

iPhone Duo starts at HK$17,499 in Hong Kong and RMB 15,999 in China. Compare storage prices, local preorder dates and official buying links.

iPhone Duo Release Date: October 23 Launch & Regional Dates

iPhone Duo was released on October 23, 2026. Preorders opened October 16 at 5 a.m. PT. US, UK, China and Hong Kong dates, plus the October 30 second wave.

iPhone Duo Size Comparison vs iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPad mini

How big is iPhone Duo? Compare its screen, video area and folded size with iPhone 18 Pro Max and iPad mini, using Apple's published dimensions.

iPhone Duo specs: displays, cameras, battery & dimensions

Apple’s published iPhone Duo specifications, including the 7.6-inch inner display, A20 Pro, Touch ID and charging requirements.

iPhone Duo Storage Options & Prices: 256GB to 2TB

iPhone Duo comes in 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB. Compare each upgrade's cost in the US, UK, Hong Kong and China, then size your need with a five-line budget.

Apple September 2026 event: replay & iPhone Duo highlights

Watch Apple’s official event and separate the Duo launch schedule from the iPhone 18 Pro announcements.

iPhone Duo 3D Experience

Rotate, fold and change the light. Explore the folding form and sample apps in an independent interactive reconstruction.

Overview

Release date

iPhone Duo release date: October 23, 2026

iPhone Duo was released on October 23, 2026. Preorders opened October 16 at 5 a.m. PT. US, UK, China and Hong Kong dates, plus the October 30 second wave.

Updated October 4, 2026: mainland China preorders and availability no longer include a device-approval condition. Get Ready opened October 12 as store setup, not an earlier sale. Updated October 17, 2026: US delivery dates below are an October 16 snapshot. Hong Kong and mainland China configuration pages checked that day did not show a dated ship estimate. Updated October 22, 2026: an Apple spokesperson told MacRumors that Apple Stores will have limited iPhone Duo for walk-in customers on October 23, and named the countries. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Updated October 24, 2026: On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in Australia, mainland China, Japan, and South Korea, with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. In the US, Canada, the UK, and Singapore, the store was still telling customers to check back on Saturday, October 24, and those reservations were expected to open as Saturday arrived in each time zone. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed.

Release date by region

Apple’s September 9, 2026 announcement says customers in more than 70 countries and regions, including the United States, the United Kingdom, mainland China, and Japan, can pre-order beginning at 5 a.m. PT on Friday, October 16, with availability beginning Friday, October 23. Another 28 countries and regions follow on Friday, October 30. Hong Kong is not named in that list. The Apple Hong Kong store lists the matching local preorder time, 8 p.m. HKT on October 16. On October 17, 2026, that Hong Kong configuration page still listed availability on October 23. Local times below convert 5 a.m. PDT to 12:00 UTC, 1 p.m. in London, 8 p.m. in Beijing and Hong Kong, and 9 p.m. in Tokyo.

RegionPreorderAvailabilitySource
United StatesOctober 16, 2026, 5:00 a.m. PTOctober 23, 2026Apple Newsroom; US Apple Store
United KingdomOctober 16, 2026, 1:00 p.m. LondonOctober 23, 2026Apple Newsroom; UK Apple Store
Mainland ChinaOctober 16, 2026, 8:00 p.m. BeijingOctober 23, 2026Apple Newsroom; China Apple Store
Hong KongOctober 16, 2026, 8:00 p.m. HKTOctober 23, 2026Apple Hong Kong store
JapanOctober 16, 2026, 9:00 p.m. JSTOctober 23, 2026Apple Newsroom

When did iPhone Duo preorders open?

October 16, 2026, at 5 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time. The US store gives the time explicitly. That is 12:00 UTC, 1 p.m. in London and 8 p.m. in Hong Kong and Beijing on the same day. The UK and Hong Kong stores independently list the matching local times.

They sold out of the launch-day window quickly. Orders placed when preorders opened were scheduled to arrive on October 23. By about 5:30 a.m. Pacific Time, the US Apple Store showed January 25, 2027 for a new order of every configuration MacRumors checked:

US configuration, about 5:30 a.m. PT on October 16Quoted delivery
Star White, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TBJanuary 25, 2027
Night Sky, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TBJanuary 25, 2027

Earlier that morning, estimates had already moved from October 23 into November. By 5:30 a.m. they were January 25. (MacRumors)

In-store pickup on the US store was then turned off. Apple’s page told customers to check back on October 24. (MacRumors)

When is the release date?

Apple lists October 23, 2026 for the initial launch, with another group of markets following on October 30. Apple’s announcement names more than 70 first-wave countries and regions, including the US, UK, China, India, Japan, Canada and Australia. October 23 was the arrival date for orders placed at the opening, and the day stores began selling the phone. iPhone Duo launched October 23, and first-wave preorders were delivered. It is not the date a new online order was being promised later on October 16.

MilestoneDate
Product announcementSeptember 9, 2026
Get Ready openedOctober 12, 2026
Preorders, first launch marketsOctober 16, 2026
US online estimate for a new orderJanuary 25, 2027, as quoted around 5:30 a.m. PT on October 16
First-market availabilityOctober 23, 2026
Additional 28 marketsOctober 30, 2026

Get Ready opened on October 12, 2026. That was store setup, not an earlier sale: color, storage, carrier, accessories and AppleCare+ could be chosen ahead of time, along with a trade-in, payment method and address. MacRumors and AppleInsider reported the opening date.

The mainland China store lists October 16 at 8 p.m. Beijing time for preorders and October 23 for availability. The China product page gives the same dates. This page does not add a Hong Kong or mainland China delivery date: see the check below.

Why do some reports mention September 12 or September 18?

Those dates appear in launch coverage of the iPhone 18 Pro line. They are not the dates listed for Duo by Apple. For ordering decisions, use the product-specific local store rather than a date attached to the wider iPhone lineup.

Will an order arrive on release day?

Snapshot from October 16, 2026. These estimates move, and this site does not have a live inventory feed.

An order placed at 5 a.m. Pacific Time was scheduled for October 23. A new order on the US Apple Store later that morning was not. By about 5:30 a.m. Pacific Time, all eight US configurations showed January 25, 2027. By Friday afternoon, AppleInsider reported that the dates had settled in late January for every model, color and storage size.

The same afternoon report said AT&T and Verizon still showed same-week delivery until about noon, and Best Buy showed about a two-week shipment for most models as late as 2 p.m. Eastern. Those seller estimates can change. On October 21, an Apple spokesperson told MacRumors: “Apple Stores will have limited iPhone Duo available for walk-in customers.” Apple expects that limited supply to sell out quickly on Friday, October 23. AppleInsider reported the same statement, and said a new US order was still listed for January 25, 2027. Apple has not published a walk-in unit count.

In the same MacRumors report, Apple said limited walk-in stock on launch day is planned for the US, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Mexico, Germany, the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the UK, and for some stores in Italy. Apple did not name which Italian stores. In Macau, walk-ins are accepted on launch day only, and stock is limited. There is no walk-in purchase on launch day in France, mainland China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Malaysia, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, or the United Arab Emirates. In those places, reserve an Apple Store pickup on Apple’s site first. On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in Australia, mainland China, Japan, and South Korea, with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. In the US, Canada, the UK, and Singapore, the store was still telling customers to check back on Saturday, October 24, and those reservations were expected to open as Saturday arrived in each time zone. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed. (MacRumors) Limited stock is not a promise that a given store will have a given configuration.

Apple told the Financial Times that demand was “nothing short of extraordinary,” as reported by MacRumors.

Checked again on October 17, 2026. The US buy page still presented iPhone Duo as a pre-order and said “Available starting 10.23.” The configuration screen showed free shipping and store pickup as options, but it did not display a dated delivery estimate. This page keeps January 25, 2027 as the October 16 US snapshot. It was not reconfirmed as the live quote on October 17.

The Hong Kong and mainland China configuration pages, checked the same day, still listed preorder and availability on October 23. Neither showed a dated delivery estimate, so this page does not quote one. The China page says regional shipping details appear at checkout. Both pages said each customer is limited to two iPhone Duo units.

Compare Hong Kong and China prices and use the buying checklist to confirm your model, number and storage.