Search the guide
Should You Buy iPhone Duo? Buying Guide & Checklist

Should you buy iPhone Duo or wait? Check carrier eSIM support, portability, storage, stylus timing, real cost and current delivery estimates before you order.

iPhone Duo Emulator: Try It Online or Use Xcode Simulator

Looking for an iPhone Duo emulator? Try our free online 3D demo in your browser, or, if you build apps, run the iPhone Duo simulator in Xcode 27's Device Hub.

iPhone Duo Hong Kong vs China Version: eSIM, Activation & Returns

Hong Kong or China iPhone Duo? Compare mainland eSIM activation (model A3721), return rules and other differences before you buy, with links to Apple's own pages.

How to Make an iPhone Duo Folding Animation

Use your own media in the browser, choose a folding sequence and export a short film. This walkthrough uses the creative tools already available in Duo Studio.

What is iPhone Duo? Apple’s foldable iPhone, explained

iPhone Duo is the name Apple announced for its first foldable iPhone. Understand the product and the older Fold and Ultra names.

iPhone Duo Prices: Hong Kong, China, US & UK

iPhone Duo starts at HK$17,499 in Hong Kong and RMB 15,999 in China. Compare storage prices, local preorder dates and official buying links.

iPhone Duo Release Date: October 23 Launch & Regional Dates

iPhone Duo was released on October 23, 2026. Preorders opened October 16 at 5 a.m. PT. US, UK, China and Hong Kong dates, plus the October 30 second wave.

iPhone Duo Size Comparison vs iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPad mini

How big is iPhone Duo? Compare its screen, video area and folded size with iPhone 18 Pro Max and iPad mini, using Apple's published dimensions.

iPhone Duo specs: displays, cameras, battery & dimensions

Apple’s published iPhone Duo specifications, including the 7.6-inch inner display, A20 Pro, Touch ID and charging requirements.

iPhone Duo Storage Options & Prices: 256GB to 2TB

iPhone Duo comes in 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB. Compare each upgrade's cost in the US, UK, Hong Kong and China, then size your need with a five-line budget.

Apple September 2026 event: replay & iPhone Duo highlights

Watch Apple’s official event and separate the Duo launch schedule from the iPhone 18 Pro announcements.

iPhone Duo Price in China: RMB 15,999 to RMB 26,499

iPhone Duo China price starts at RMB 15,999. See every storage tier, part numbers, 24-month 0% installments, included VAT, the purchase limit and the eSIM model.

iPhone Duo Price in Hong Kong: HK$17,499 to HK$27,999

iPhone Duo Hong Kong price starts at HK$17,499. See the HK price for every storage tier, part numbers, the two-per-customer limit and Apple HK's return rule.

iPhone Duo 3D Experience

Rotate, fold and change the light. Explore the folding form and sample apps in an independent interactive reconstruction.

Overview

Regional buying guide

iPhone Duo Hong Kong vs China version: which should you buy?

Hong Kong or China iPhone Duo? Compare mainland eSIM activation (model A3721), return rules and other differences before you buy, with links to Apple's own pages.

Updated October 4, 2026: Apple’s mainland activation list is A3518, A3635, A3715, A3718, and A3721. Confirm the model with your carrier. Updated October 22, 2026: neither Hong Kong nor mainland China offers walk-in iPhone Duo purchase on launch day. Reserve an Apple Store pickup on Apple’s site first. Updated October 24, 2026: On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in mainland China, with few or no slots for any configuration. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed, and is not taken from the mainland China reopening. Australia, Japan, and South Korea also reopened, again with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. Updated October 25, 2026: On October 24, 2026, between 5:10 and 5:15 a.m. Pacific Time, Apple Store pickup reservations opened in the United States and Canada. Stock is extremely limited, and most stores had no slots on October 24, 2026. Pickup reservations were also open in Australia, the United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Singapore, Japan, and mainland China. A new order on Apple’s website was still quoted for late January. Hong Kong’s pickup status remains unconfirmed. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Updated October 27, 2026: Apple’s iOS 27.2 release notes say Siri AI remains unavailable in mainland China.

The short answer

For a mainland Chinese mobile number, start with activation eligibility rather than the Hong Kong price. Apple’s mainland China page lists the iPhone Duo models that can be activated in mainland China as A3518, A3635, A3715, A3718, and A3721. Confirm that list with your carrier. Its setup instructions include a visit to a carrier store for identity verification. The Hong Kong store also lists an eSIM-only phone: buying there does not give you a physical SIM slot.

Our recommendation is to confirm your exact model and existing plan with the carrier before paying. An unlocked phone and a supported eSIM activation are separate requirements. A cheaper listing is not useful if your main number cannot be activated on it.

This is a pre-purchase checklist, not a cross-border activation test. Product and carrier conditions can change before delivery.

On October 26, 2026, Apple’s iOS 27.2 release notes said Siri AI remains unavailable in mainland China. (MacRumors, citing Apple’s release notes.)

Launch-day walk-in stock

On October 21, an Apple spokesperson told MacRumors: “Apple Stores will have limited iPhone Duo available for walk-in customers.” That limited walk-in supply does not include Hong Kong or mainland China. In both places, there is no walk-in purchase on launch day, October 23. Reserve an Apple Store pickup on Apple’s site first. On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in mainland China, with few or no slots for any configuration. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed, and is not taken from the mainland China reopening. Australia, Japan, and South Korea also reopened, again with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. On October 24, 2026, between 5:10 and 5:15 a.m. Pacific Time, Apple Store pickup reservations opened in the United States and Canada. Stock is extremely limited, and most stores had no slots on October 24, 2026. Pickup reservations were also open in Australia, the United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Singapore, Japan, and mainland China. A new order on Apple’s website was still quoted for late January. Hong Kong’s pickup status remains unconfirmed. (MacRumors) A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. (MacRumors) The country list is on the release-date page.

Start with your number and destination

Your situationStart hereResolve before buying
Mainland number, mainly used in mainland ChinaMainland purchase and the carrier’s activation process for A3518, A3635, A3715, A3718, or A3721Whether your current number and plan can migrate, which store handles it, and required ID
Hong Kong number, mainly used in Hong KongHong Kong store and your own network providerExact model support, plan eligibility, transfer method and any replacement-eSIM fee
Hong Kong number, regular mainland visitsYour carrier’s roaming conditionsVoice, SMS and data coverage, allowances and costs; roaming is not a mainland-number activation
Mainland number, considering a Hong Kong purchaseConfirm eligibility with the mainland carrier firstDo not treat a travel data eSIM as a replacement for your existing voice/SMS number
Two numbers across the borderWrite down the requirements for each line separatelyWhich line handles calls, verification texts and data; how each can be recovered if the phone is lost

Ask the carrier this specific question: “Can I activate my existing number and plan on this exact iPhone Duo model, and complete the process where I live?” A generic answer that a network “supports eSIM” is not enough.

What is confirmed about mainland activation?

Apple names China Mobile, China Telecom and China Unicom as supporting providers for this product in its mainland store FAQ. Its mainland eSIM support guide explains the local activation requirements. The same support guide says overseas-purchased models cannot install mainland carrier eSIM profiles. This makes a Hong Kong purchase unsuitable as a presumed route to activating your mainland number. Eligibility may include additional conditions; this page does not certify every prepaid, business or secondary-number plan.

Before transferring a line, ask how long the old SIM remains usable, whether you need an appointment and how SMS verification works during the switch. Keep the old phone available until calls, messages and mobile data work on the new one. These are preparation steps, not a promise that a remote transfer will be available.

Compare the full purchase, not two currency symbols

Use the Hong Kong and mainland price tables for the same capacity. HKD and RMB are different currencies: the printed numbers cannot be subtracted to obtain savings. Include your payment provider’s conversion cost, travel or delivery expense and any applicable import obligations in your own comparison. We do not provide a universal tax-inclusive cross-border price.

Choose storage capacity before comparing stores. An apparent regional saving can disappear if the comparison quietly moves from 256GB to 512GB or includes a trade-in on only one side. Keep trade-in estimates, financing and the cash device price on separate lines.

Returns and service need their own check

Apple’s Hong Kong online-store return policy and mainland return policy are separate policies. The mainland page describes a 14-calendar-day process for eligible returns and says products must be returned in the country or region of purchase. The Hong Kong online-order policy does not offer ordinary change-of-mind returns or exchanges; it describes an exception for eligible defective-product exchanges. Do not transfer either policy to a different purchase channel or a third-party seller.

Before buying across the border, ask the seller and Apple Support where a faulty unit would be assessed, what proof of purchase is required and whether the particular model can be serviced where you live. Record the answer with the exact model and purchase channel. We have not verified a blanket “global warranty” entitlement for either purchase route.

Hong Kong and mainland China AppleCare+ fees should be checked separately.

A checklist to keep with your order

  • Exact model number and capacity, seller and intended delivery date.
  • Your carrier’s confirmation for each existing number and plan.
  • Activation location, identity documents and transfer/recovery procedure.
  • Device price in its original currency, payment conversion and separate extras.
  • The seller’s applicable return terms and a practical service route.

For dates, use the release schedule; for the broader hardware decision, read the buying guide. This page covers regional suitability. The price page remains the place to compare current listed amounts.