Search the guide
Should You Buy iPhone Duo? Buying Guide & Checklist

Should you buy iPhone Duo or wait? Check carrier eSIM support, portability, storage, stylus timing, real cost and current delivery estimates before you order.

iPhone Duo Hong Kong vs China Version: eSIM, Activation & Returns

Hong Kong or China iPhone Duo? Compare mainland eSIM activation (model A3721), return rules and other differences before you buy, with links to Apple's own pages.

How to Make an iPhone Duo Folding Animation

Use your own media in the browser, choose a folding sequence and export a short film. This walkthrough uses the creative tools already available in Duo Studio.

What is iPhone Duo? Apple’s foldable iPhone, explained

iPhone Duo is the name Apple announced for its first foldable iPhone. Understand the product and the older Fold and Ultra names.

iPhone Duo Prices: Hong Kong, China, US & UK

iPhone Duo starts at HK$17,499 in Hong Kong and RMB 15,999 in China. Compare storage prices, local preorder dates and official buying links.

iPhone Duo Release Date: October 23 Launch & Regional Dates

iPhone Duo was released on October 23, 2026. Preorders opened October 16 at 5 a.m. PT. US, UK, China and Hong Kong dates, plus the October 30 second wave.

iPhone Duo Size Comparison vs iPhone 18 Pro Max & iPad mini

How big is iPhone Duo? Compare its screen, video area and folded size with iPhone 18 Pro Max and iPad mini, using Apple's published dimensions.

iPhone Duo specs: displays, cameras, battery & dimensions

Apple’s published iPhone Duo specifications, including the 7.6-inch inner display, A20 Pro, Touch ID and charging requirements.

iPhone Duo Storage Options & Prices: 256GB to 2TB

iPhone Duo comes in 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB. Compare each upgrade's cost in the US, UK, Hong Kong and China, then size your need with a five-line budget.

Apple September 2026 event: replay & iPhone Duo highlights

Watch Apple’s official event and separate the Duo launch schedule from the iPhone 18 Pro announcements.

iPhone Duo 3D Experience

Rotate, fold and change the light. Explore the folding form and sample apps in an independent interactive reconstruction.

Overview

Buying guide

Should you buy iPhone Duo? What to check now

Should you buy iPhone Duo or wait? Check carrier eSIM support, portability, storage, stylus timing, real cost and current delivery estimates before you order.

Updated October 4, 2026: mainland activation cites Apple’s list of A3518, A3635, A3715, A3718, and A3721. Updated October 15, 2026: U.S. out-of-warranty repair fees now follow Apple’s published estimates. Updated October 17, 2026: added the October 16 US delivery snapshot. Updated October 22, 2026: an Apple spokesperson told MacRumors that Apple Stores will have limited iPhone Duo for walk-in customers on October 23, and named the countries. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Also updated October 22, 2026: the iOS 27.2 release candidate already supports Apple Pencil (USB-C) on both displays in hands-on testing by Max Weinbach, not an Apple announcement. A public release is expected around the end of October. The launch version of iOS does not include it until 27.2 ships. Updated October 23, 2026: the App Store will label apps “Made for iPhone Duo” when they are built with the iOS 27.1 SDK or later and optimized for Duo. Apple highlighted Netflix, Prime Video, Zoom, and Slack among more than 50 apps already optimized or soon to be optimized. Microsoft Word and Outlook will get a desktop-class experience in the coming weeks. Updated October 24, 2026: On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in Australia, mainland China, Japan, and South Korea, with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. In the US, Canada, the UK, and Singapore, the store was still telling customers to check back on Saturday, October 24, and those reservations were expected to open as Saturday arrived in each time zone. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed.

Start with the tasks you want to improve

A larger working area is useful when it helps with the documents, maps, messages or apps you actually use. Apple’s film shows the new form factor; a demonstration is still different from living with the phone. This is a decision guide, not a hands-on review.

How long does a new order take?

As of October 16, 2026, a new order on Apple’s US store was quoted for late January 2027: January 25 for all eight configurations by about 5:30 a.m. Pacific Time, and still late January that afternoon. The same day, AT&T and Verizon showed same-week delivery until about noon, and Best Buy showed about a two-week shipment for most models as late as 2 p.m. Eastern. On October 21, an Apple spokesperson told MacRumors: “Apple Stores will have limited iPhone Duo available for walk-in customers.” Apple expects that stock to sell out quickly on October 23. Whether a store has walk-in units depends on the country. In that MacRumors report, Apple said limited walk-in stock is planned for the US, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Mexico, Germany, the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the UK, and some stores in Italy, which Apple did not name. Macau accepts walk-ins on launch day only, with limited stock. France, mainland China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Malaysia, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates do not offer walk-in purchase on launch day: reserve a pickup on Apple’s site first. On October 23, Apple’s online store reopened pickup reservations in Australia, mainland China, Japan, and South Korea, with few or no slots for any configuration. Slots are very few, and you may need to refresh the order page. In the US, Canada, the UK, and Singapore, the store was still telling customers to check back on Saturday, October 24, and those reservations were expected to open as Saturday arrived in each time zone. A new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. Hong Kong’s pickup status was not reported and is unconfirmed. (MacRumors) AppleInsider said a new US order was still quoted for January 25, 2027. These dates are a snapshot and can change. Confirm the seller’s date before you pay. The release-date page has the timeline and sources.

Hong Kong or mainland China: check local activation first

The Hong Kong store specifies eSIM-only connectivity. Apple’s mainland China page lists A3518, A3635, A3715, A3718, and A3721 for local activation, with carrier support and in-store identity checks.

Before purchasing, confirm the exact model, your plan, number-transfer process and any in-person steps with your carrier. Roaming with an overseas number and activating a mainland local eSIM are different situations; an unlocked label alone does not settle compatibility.

Compare Hong Kong prices with mainland China prices, then choose for the region where you will actually use the phone.

Try the closed phone, too

A foldable will spend plenty of time closed. Use the dimensions and weight to compare it with your current phone. In a store, try pocketing it, reaching the keyboard and opening it while standing. A large screen is less useful if the closed device is awkward for your daily routine.

What if you want it for notes or tablet work?

Split View is demonstrated in launch reporting, but your own app combinations matter more than a prepared demo. The iOS 27.2 release candidate already supports Apple Pencil (USB-C) on both the inner and outer displays, according to hands-on testing by analyst Max Weinbach, not an Apple announcement. A public release is expected around the end of October. The launch version of iOS does not include Pencil support until 27.2 ships. If handwriting is the reason for buying, wait until 27.2 is on the phone and check it with your preferred app. MacRumors, AppleInsider

Existing apps run on Duo. Apple says a build made with the iOS 26 SDK or earlier appears in the center of the open display with empty space around the window, a build with the iOS 27 SDK fills most of the inner display, and the iOS 27.1 SDK or later extends an app across the full display. Whether a given everyday app is rebuilt for that full display at launch depends on each developer (Apple). In the App Store, look for the “Made for iPhone Duo” label, which Apple says is for apps built with the iOS 27.1 SDK or later and optimized for Duo. Apple highlighted Netflix, Prime Video, Zoom, and Slack among more than 50 apps that are already optimized or soon to be optimized, and said Microsoft Word and Outlook will get a desktop-class experience in the coming weeks (MacRumors, MacRumors).

What belongs in the budget?

Choose the storage you need, then account for compatible protection, any adapter you lack, and optional coverage. Use the full regional price table, not a headline based on trade-in eligibility. Check repair and return terms with the seller before ordering.

In the United States, Apple’s iPhone repair page lists these estimated iPhone Duo service fees. That page is the source of truth. Apple inspects the device before the final fee.

Without AppleCare+, the out-of-warranty estimates are cover layer $49, back glass $199, battery $229, rear camera $229, outer display $379, outer display and back glass $509, inner display $999, and other damage $1,499.

With AppleCare+, the same page lists battery service at $0, cover layer $19, outer display damage $29, back glass damage $29, inner display damage $99, other accidental damage $99, and theft or loss $149. Apple says it replaces the battery at no extra charge when capacity is below 80%.

Apple’s U.S. store lists AppleCare+ with Theft and Loss for iPhone Duo at $19.99 per month until cancelled, $199.99 per year until cancelled, or $399 as a one-time price.

What should you wait for reviews to answer?

Real battery life, app compatibility, heat during sustained work and long-term hinge behavior require actual testing. A manufacturer's test rating or a brief launch demo cannot settle them. We have not tested a retail Duo and do not assign a score.

Before you order

Confirm the model and number, capacity, full budget, return terms and service options, then check the current delivery estimate. Try the 3D demo to explore the folding shape; grip and real app behavior still need a physical device.

Work through the decision in detail

Start with regional eSIM and purchase checks, compare video area and physical dimensions, then make a storage budget using your current phone usage.